Once files are uploaded to a workspace you have access to, you can perform a variety of actions on those files. If you roll over the Actions Menu (the blue box with the down-facing arrow to the right of each file and folder), you are presented with a list of actions you can perform on that file/folder.
NOTE: You can only perform actions for which you've been given permission. If you don't see an of the actions list below, you likely haven't been given permission in your user settings.
To Download a file, simply click on the file name or roll over the Actions menu and select Download. This will download the file to your browsers default download location or provide a dialog box to choose between opening or saving the file, depending on your browser and its settings.
To Send a file, select Send from the Actions menu. This is similar to Upload Files, but for files that are already on the site and will open a similar dialog box. Please see Uploading and Sending Files for more information about the various preferences and options.
Request File (folders only) allows you to request a file to be uploaded to a specific folder on the site (which can also be accessed via the "Request File" button next to the "Create Folder" button at the top of the file list). Once selected, a window is displayed where you can select either existing users of the workspace, or enter the email address(es) of non-users to request files from, choose an optional expiration date, or add an optional message to the request. Once completed, click "Request Files" to send a request to the selected recipients.
Create Public Link (files only) allows you to create a link to a file that you can copy and paste elsewhere, such as your own email client (like Outlook) or a website. Select Create Public Link from the Actions menu, choose the number of days the link should remain active and then choose Create Link. The following screen will display the link already highlighted so you can copy and paste where you need it.
Selecting Rename allows you to change the name of the file or folder. Enter the new name and click Rename to the right of the field.
Move and Copy allows you to move or copy a file to another location. Clicking either option will open a window displaying all of the workspaces you have access to. Navigate by clicking on the workspace name (and subsequent folder names if necessary), or typing the name of the folder in the search field. Click "Previous Location" to move back to the previous location you were in or "View All Workspaces" to see the full list of workspaces again. "Create Folder in This Location" lets you create a new folder in the location you're currently viewing. When you've reached the appropriate location, click blue "Select This Location" button at the bottom of the window. Be sure to click "Overwrite files with the same name in the new location?" if you wish the file you're moving/copying to overwrite any file that has the same name in your current location. NOTE: You can also move files by click-and-dragging them from their current location into another folder or workspace from the list on the left, though you can only move one "level" at a time (as you can't view folders within the destination folder/workspace). You can also copy files by holding the "Option" key (Mac) or "Control" key (Windows) while click-and-dragging.
Add Access Restrictions (folders only; Admins, Super Users, and Sub-admins only) allows you to restrict users of the workspace from the folder. See the "Access Restrictions" section on the "Folders – Guest Access and Access Restrictions" article for more information.
Add Guest Access (folders only; Admins, Super Users, and Sub-admins only) create an area for non-users (guests) to upload and/or download files without setting them up as a user. See the "Allow Guest Access" section on the "Folders – Guest Access and Access Restrictions" article for more information.
Tag allows you to add a short annotation to a file or folder. Tags are searchable through Search and Advanced Search. They can contain letters, numbers, underscores, commas and hyphens/dashes only, with 20 characters max.
Stats (Admins, Super Users, and Sub-admins only) allows you to see how many times that file has been downloaded or sent, and see which of those actions have been performed on that file recently.
Select Delete (and confirm Delete again) to delete a file or folder. Note that, depending on your site's settings, this will either move the file/folder to the Deleted Files area, or permanently delete it.
Scheduled Delete allows you to set a day in the future for the file or folder to be deleted. Select this option and then enter the number of days from today (from 1 to 999) for the file/folder to be deleted. If the file is scheduled to be deleted within the next 30 days, a black clock icon will appear to the right of the file name. If it's within 4 days of deletion, the clock icon will turn yellow. Hovering over this icon will display the date and time the file/folder is scheduled to be deleted. To cancel or change a Scheduled Delete, roll over the Actions menu and select Cancel Scheduled Delete. You can then add a new Scheduled Delete following the steps above, if desired.
Batch Actions
You can perform many actions to multiple files and folders at once by use the Batch Actions feature. Begin by checking the box to the left of the file/folder names you wish to modify – you must select at least two. At the top of the file listings, to the left of the Name field, is the Select All box. Checking this will select all of the files in your current view. If you have more than one page of files, a "Select all across all pages" pop-up window will appear next to the Select All checkbox, allowing you to select all files in the current workspace/folder if so desired.
Once your files are selected, click the Batch Actions menu at top of the files listing, just below the blue Upload/Send Files button. You will then be presented with a list of all of the actions you can perform on the files you have selected, with all of the functions working the same as for individual files listed above.
Create Folder
You can create folders within workspaces or other folders by clicking on the Create Folder button to the right of the blue Upload/Send Files button. Enter a name for the folder (noting the naming restrictions below the name field) and click Create Folder.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.