A workspace is an area that groups together a set of files. You can think of it as a "master folder". Administrators and Super Users create workspaces and assign users to them based on who should have access. Workspaces can be used to house files for a variety of things, such as internal resources (HR, Billing, Accounting, etc.), projects, clients or customers, or for any other situation where a set of files should be grouped together.
After logging in, click the "Files" link in the left menu (if you aren't already there). A list of the workspaces you have access to will appear to the right of the "Files" tab. The workspace you are currently in will be highlighted in gray and bolded, and the files available to you in the center of the screen. If you belong to only one workspace, this is the only area you have access to and you cannot change what workspace you are in.
If you belong to fewer than 15 workspaces, the workspaces will all appear below "Your Workspaces". By clicking a workspace name you immediately move to that workspace and have access to the files therein.
When you belong to multiple workspaces, it is important to pay attention to which workspace you are currently in before uploading files. If you upload sensitive or important files to the wrong workspace they could be viewed by people who shouldn't have access to them.
If you belong to 15 or more workspaces, some additional options will appear. At the top you will see "Search Workspaces". You can begin typing the name of a workspace in the "Search Workspaces" field and select one from the displayed list. Also, you can click the arrow to the right of "Search Workspaces", which will open a drop-down menu of all workspaces you belong to.
Below that you will see "Favorites". If you have workspaces you visit often, you can add them to your Favorites list so they are easily accessible. Click the pencil icon next to "Favorites", and select the workspace(s) you wish to add (either by typing in a name or clicking the dropdown list and selecting). Click "Save Workspace Favorites" when finished. To remove workspaces, click the pencil icon again, click the "X" to the right of the workspace(s) you wish to remove, and Save.
Below Favorites you will see either "Recently Viewed" or "All Workspaces" with blue text to the right of either subhead. Clicking this text will switch between the two views.
When in the "Recently Viewed" view, whichever workspace you've visited most recently will appear at the top of the list with older workspaces appearing below.
NOTE: The "Home" workspace seen in the screenshot is only available to Admins, and the "FileDrop" workspace is only visible if that feature has been enabled by an Admin and you have been assigned to it.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.